Concert for oboe and piano at Wigmore Hall, London, in streaming, review by Daniela Domenici

Another splendid concert, in streaming, from Wigmore Hall with two young and very talented soloists, the oboist Olivier Stankiewicz and Alasdair Beatson at the piano.

Here is the program:

  • Robert Schumann – Adagio and Allegro in A flat Op. 70 for piano and horn (optionally cello or violin or viola) , in this case oboe; it was composed in 1849
  • Johann Sebastian Bach – Oboe Sonata in B minor BWV1030 written for transverse flute and obbligato harpsichord, in this case for oboe and piano, and consists of 3 movements:
  • Andante
  • Largo e dolce
  • Presto
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Violin Sonata in B flat K454 (transcribed by Olivier Stankiewicz for oboe and piano), it was composed in 1784 and consists of three movements:
  • Largo – Allegro
  • Andante
  • Allegretto