Concert of the Nash Ensemble at Wigmore Hall in London, in streaming, review by Daniela Domenici

What a beautiful concert I have just seen and heard in streaming from Wigmore Hall!

The Nash Ensemble, a quartet formed by Alasdair Beatson on the piano, Stephanie Gonley on the violin, Lawrence Power on the viola, Adrian Brendel on the cello has performed two famous pieces.

The first one was the Piano Quartet No. 2 in E flat major Op. 87 by Antonin Dvorak who composed it during Summer 1889 and is divided in four movements:

1.Allegro con moto


3.Allegro moderato, grazioso

4.Allegro ma non troppo (Finale)

After Dvorak the Nash Enseble has performed one of the absolute classics of the chamber music repertory, the quintet The Trout D667 composed by Franz Schubert in 1819. It is divided in

1.Allegro vivace in forma sonata

2.Andante in Fa maggiore

3.Scherzo – Presto.

4.Andantino – Allegretto in Re maggiore

5.Allegro giusto

To perform the quintet Graham Mitchell, with his double bass, joined the quartet